Health CS inaugurates KMTC Board

Health CS inaugurates KMTC Board

Health Cabinet Secretary Sen. Mutahi Kagwe has challenged the Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC) to embrace ICT in an effort to revolutionize service delivery.

“The medical field is quickly changing from manual to paperless and I want to call upon KMTC to be the first middle-level health training institution to go that direction,” he said. 

He was speaking on October 25, 2021 during the official inauguration of the KMTC Board of Directors in Mombasa, following the recent appointment of a new chairperson, and three other members.

The CS was accompanied by the Health Principal Secretary Ms. Susan Mochache and Ag. Director General for Health Dr. Patrick Amoth.

The PS called upon the College to regularly review its training curriculum to meet global health evolving needs and produce graduates in specialized health cadres. 

In an effort to generate more income to support College operations, she encouraged the institution to develop more robust policies with a view to streamline curriculum review, research and consultancy to propel the College to international standards.

In a recent Gazette Notice, H.E President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed Amb. Zachary Muburi Muita as the new Board Chairperson. On the other hand, Health CS appointed Mrs. Jennifer Bosibori Kibagendi, Dr. Stephen Ochiel and Dr. Naomi Kathure Mutea to serve in the College Board.

The CS congratulated the new appointees and called upon them to use their expertise to support the College achieve its mandate.

Amb. Muita thanked the President for the appointment and undertook to support the Government’s Big Four Agenda, specifically Universal Health Coverage and other health targets.

The College is committed to producing competent health professionals to bridge the Human Resources for Health gaps in the country and beyond.

On his part, KMTC Chief Executive Officer Prof. Michael Kiptoo welcomed the new Board Members and assured them of full support from the Management team.

Also present were Board Directors: – Mr. Fred Wamwaki, Mr. Samuel Arachi, Dr. Martin Sirengo, Mrs. Susan Mucheru and Mr. James Bett Sitienei.