KMTC Set to Establish Two more Centres of Excellence in Safe Specimen Collection

KMTC Set to Establish Two more Centres of Excellence in Safe Specimen Collection

The Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC) is set to establish two more Centres of Excellence (CoE) in Safe Specimen Collection, thanks to a long-running partnership between the College and Becton and Dickinson International (BD), BD International Executive President Dr. Jeff Andrews has said.

Dr. Andrews was speaking when he led a delegation from the organization to a meeting with the College Ag. Deputy Director Finance, Planning and Administration Dr. Kenneth Riany, on behalf of the CEO Dr. Kelly OLuoch.

Dr. Riany observed that through the support of BD, the College has so far established eight such CoE, which has seen more than 3000 students and 125 lecturers trained.

“We are truly grateful for your consistency in supporting KMTC to produce competent Medical Laboratory Technicians with the requisite skills to enhance health services delivery,” he said.

Dr. Riany reported that the College would continue to partner with BD to set up more centres to achieve the safe specimen collection and data documentation/publication goal.

Dr. Andrews said that in addition to the fast-tracking implementation of the collaboration that was first cemented in 2012, his organization was eager to introduce KMTC to the Kinga Project which deals with cannulation to support the development of a curriculum in Oncology Nursing.

He, however, commended KMTC for the safe phlebotomy skills training, adding “We promise to support two more KMTC Campuses to acquire CoE status in phlebotomy skills training in addition to refurbishing training facilities and providing new Computers.”

Present during the meeting from KMTC were; Registrar Dr. Lucy Waweru, Manager Resource Mobilization Kamau Maina, Alumni Coordinator Albert Taiti, Medical Lab Sciences Deputy Head of Department Mr. Julius Munyao, Safe Phlebotomy coordinator Dr. Peter Mbugua among others. From BD were; Dr. Kisua Pillpy, Dr. Catherine Murithi, Maryanne Otieno and Timon Sigo.